FACULTY

Edmund Abaka, Ph.D.

Assoc. Professor

e.abaka@miami.edu

(305) 284-3702
A graduate of the University of Cape Coast in Ghana, West Africa, Dr. Abaka earned his PhD in African History from York University and his Master of Arts in European History from the University of Guelph in Canada. While he teaches the general African history survey classes (History of Africa to 1800 and Africa Since 1800), he also offers...

Hermann Beck

Professor
Cooper Fellow

hbeck@miami.edu

(305) 284-5947
Hermann Beck received his Ph.D. from the University of California, Los Angeles after studying Germanistik and ancient and modern history at German universities (Mannheim, Freiburg, and Berlin), the London School of Economics, and the Sorbonne.  He has been a Fulbright Scholar, a Fellow at the Berliner Historische Kommission, and a...

Eugene S. Clasby

Professor

gclasby@miami.edu

(305) 284-5967

David Frank Graf

Professor
DIRECTOR OF THE JOINT SAUDI-AMERICAN JURASH PROECT AND THE HELLENISTIC PETRA PROJECT (JORDAN).

dgraf@miami.edu

(305) 284-4914
Professor David Graf received his Ph.D. from the University of Michigan.  He is an ancient historian and archeologist specializing of the Greco-Roman world in the Levant and Arabia, Co-editor of the multi-volume Anchor Bible Dictionary (1992), he is the author of Rome and Its Arabian Frontier from the Nabataeans to the Saracens (1997)...

Henry A. Green, Ph.D.

Professor

hgreen@miami.edu

(305) 284-4375
Henry A. Green has taught at the University of Miami since 1984. He received his Ph.D. from St. Andrews University (Britain) after postgraduate work in Canada, at the Sorbonne (France) and the Hebrew University of Jerusalem (Israel). He is the author or co-author of four books, including Research in Action (education of at-risk...

Manuel A. Huerta

Professor

mhuerta@miami.edu

(305) 284-7117

John T. Kirby

Professor

corax@miami.edu

(305) 284-6326

J Tomas Lopez

Professor
Chair of Department of Art and Art History

tomlopez@miami.edu

(305) 284-3164
Tomas Lopez, is Professor and Chair of the Department of Art and Art History. Professor Lopez has degrees in Psychology and Philosophy from Fordham University, a Master of Media Arts in Film and Video and a Master of Fine Arts in Photography and Modernist Theory from the University of South Florida. He has been awarded the Florida Individual...

Patrick A. McCarthy

Professor

p.mccarthy@miami.edu

(305) 284-2920
Pat McCarthy, who has taught at the University of Miami since 1976 and has edited the James Joyce Literary Supplement since 1999, is particularly interested in modernist British and Irish literature, science fiction, scholarly editing, and genetic criticism. In addition to articles on James Joyce, Malcolm Lowry, Samuel Beckett,...

Bruce J Miller

Professor

bmiller@miami.edu

(305) 284-4128
Bruce Miller is a Professor of Acting in the Department of Theatre Arts. He is the author of six books on acting including The Scene Study Book, Actor's Alchemy, and The Actor as Storyteller. His more than 100 articles on acting appear regularly in Dramatics Magazine and Teaching...

Daniel L. Pals

Professor
Director of the MALS Program

dpals@miami.edu

(305) 284-4036

William D Rothman

Professor

rothman@miami.edu

(305) 284-4539

John Paul Russo

Professor

jprusso@miami.edu

(786) 200-0803

George Wilson

Professor

gwilson1@miami.edu

(305) 284-6156
Co-Editor Social Currents, 2018-2021  Deputy Editor, Social Currents, 2015 - present Editorial Board, Research in the Sociology of Work, 2015 - present Editorial Board, Sage Open Review, 2015 - present